Top 3 Favorite – 6″ scale figures of 2016

2016 was more of a catch up year for me. I actually got mostly ‘older’ figures that fit my Star Wars collection and therefore missed out on a few figures that I actually wanted throughout this year.

This list consists mostly out of figures that I just really like and therefore don’t always are the objectively best figures of this year (even though I feel like my #1 may be objectively one of the best 6″ scale figures ever). If you have a top 3 list of figures as well, feel free to post that in the comment section as well.


Honorable Mentions

#? – Neca Ultimate Kratos

This isn’t really a 6″ figure (more like a 7″ or 8″ figure) but I simply love it. Because I don’t own enough 7″ or 8″ figures to form a top something, I just wanted to put this guy here. Another reason I put this guy here is that he actually has a very comparable price compared to the 6″ figures.

Being somewhere around 30 euros, which is about the same as for a Black Series figure here in Europe, this guy manages to be packed with detail, accessories, amazing sculpt and a bigger size. They sometimes miss in terms of quality but the pro’s outweight the con’s on this figure.

You can check out a full review on Kratos here.


#? – Hasbro Black Series Ahsoka Tano

I put this figure here, because I only got the figure recently and I didn’t have too much time to spend with it yet. The time that I did spend with it was pretty great though.

I also like the idea of these more realistic versions of the Rebels characters. They just fit really well with the other Star Wars figures, more so than I originally expected.

A full review on this figure will come soon as well.


#? – All Bandai model kit figures

I absolutely love my Bandai model kit figures. They are fun to build, have a really nice and crisp sculpt and are usually going for a nice price. For some people a pro, for some a con, to make these figures really stand out and look movie accurate, you will have to paint these. Bandai is usually doing a pretty good job these days on giving us different kinds and finishes of plastic but Star Wars is really detailed and some details are simply too small to come as a separate piece.

This is partially the reason why I don’t have them in my top 3. The other part is that these are not always as articulated as I’d like them to be. It usually is there, but the range is sometimes lacking because they clearly take sculpt first and articulation second.

From what I’ve seen Gundams do in terms of articulation, I definitely think that Bandai should be able to do similar things with these Star Wars model kits. That’s something I definitely would like to see happen in 2017.


Top 3

#3 – Hasbro Black Series Scarif Stormtrooper Squad Leader

Yes, I put a Black Series figure in my top 3. Not necessarily because this is oh such a spectacular figure, but because I feel like this is an example of what Hasbro is capable of doing when they put some effort in a figure.

He also has the perfect articulation for the wrist joints that they should use in all their 6″ Black Series figures. I simply prefer the up and down movement of the hand and I would love to see it more often in future releases.

You can check out the full review here.


#2 – S.H. Figuarts Farmboy Luke Skywalker

I put this version of Luke as my second favorite figure of 2016 because I really like that training droid setup you can do with it. It’s what makes the figure unique and stand out from the other bunch of 6″ Star Wars figures.

The fact that this guy was surrounded by other not as good as expected S.H. Figuarts figures is also partially the reason he’s on here.

I hope S.H. Figuarts will find their way back to the top in 2017. The review on this Luke figure will come soon.


#1 – Mafex Boba Fett (ROTJ)

Wow, wow just wow. Mafex showed us with this figure that they actually are capable of doing a really good job on a figure. The amount of detail and quality on this guy are amazing.

I chose the ROTJ version for my top 3 because it’s currently the only option for a ROTJ design in 6″ scale. But as I’ve heard from many other reviewers, the ESB version is just as good.

I still have to actually write my review on this guy, but it’s coming soon, and it’s gonna be good.

img_3218


Is there anything I missed or something you want to know/see more about?
Let me know in the comment section and help improve this blog.
Check out my Facebook Page and/or Twitter Page as well.

 

Leave a Reply

