Lego Star Wars 2017 sets revealed

Brickset got some new pictures on the 2017 Lego Star Wars sets. Personally, I’m pretty excited for these new sets, but I feel like the Duel on Naboo is a bit of a let down.

For now I will only list the sets and write my opinions about them, since I don’t want any trouble with Lego again (as I had with the first Rogue One sets) but I will post a link here to the Brickset and the numbers are links to the individual set pages on Brickset as well so you can see them there if you want. Let’s check out what Lego has to offer for the first wave of coming year.


MicroFighter Sets

75160 U-wing

comes with a Rebel U-wing Pilot figure. I like the new helmet on the figure and the fact that we get blue pilot outfits now in Rogue One. This is really interesting to see in my opinion and will be great for a more diverse display.

75161 Tie Striker

(however not confirmed on Brickset, it is likely that this will be the15078753_1347771988591027_436460021478103932_n case according to this box art shot)

motivation why I put this here: Since they left out the number on the list (for now) and usually we get 2 good guys and 2 bad guys based MicroFighter sets.

75162 Y-wing

comes with a Rebel Pilot in blue uniform. Really like the blue transferring over from the U-wing set. This gives all the Rogue One sets a more connected feel.

75163 Krennic’s Imperial Shuttle

would’ve been nice to see this come with Director Krennic himself, but I understand that they won’t sell such an iconic character in such a small set. However, it does come with a Imperial Shuttle Pilot which is also really nice to have. If you own the big set, this (figure) may be a great addition for that set as well.


Battle Packs

75164 Rebel Trooper Battle Pack

this set comes with 4 Rebel Troopers and from what I can see, they are all unique, except for 2 that share the same kind of helmet, but then again, the figure is different (and that helmet piece is a new one, so it doesn’t really bother me that much. It also comes with a speeder and a turret, they look a little small, but still fun to have. 

75165 Imperial Trooper Battle Pack

Probably my least favorite set in the whole wave in terms of build. It comes with a weird walker build wich may be fun to have, but it just looks a little weird. It does have a few nice figures as it comes with 2 Stormtroopers and 2 Death Troopers. You simply can’t go wrong with regular Stormtroopers and to see 2 Death Troopers included in this set is just a great addition to any Lego Star Wars fan’s collection.


Regular Sets

75168 Yoda’s Jedi Starfighter

This set comes with Yoda and R2-D2 so not really the most exciting figures yet Yoda is still a highly demanded character and I guess this set may be the least expensive Yoda set in a while so it’s good to have it here. I also like that we get this version of the Jedi Starfighter for once instead of another regular design Jedi Starfighter from episode 3.

75169 Duel on Naboo

It comes with Qui-Gon Jinn, Obi-Wan Kenobi and Darth Maul in one of the most anticipated sets that many fans were expecting ever since the original movie release. However, it’s sad to say that I feel like Lego didn’t quite deliver to these expectations.

They probably made a few cuts here and there so it could be a less expensive set, but they cut a little too much for my taste. Nonetheless, it is still nice to see that we get this set for the first time, and hopefully they will listen to the feedback of the Lego Star Wars fans and release a different bigger version within a few years.

75170 The Phantom

For many probably one of the most exciting sets in this wave. If not for the interesting vehicle, the figures will absolutely make this set a top seller. It comes with Kanan Jarrus, C1-10P (Chopper) and Grand Admiral Thrawn. I couldn’t believe that we will finally get a Admiral Thrawn lego figure and Kanan also has his new helmet/blindfold mask head piece which is definitely an interesting thing to see for any kind of fan.

75171 Battle on Scarif

I fear that this may be a quite expensive set compared to what it just should be. Nonetheless I feel like this is a pretty cool set and this makes me hope we will get a full Rogue One team set at one point. This set comes with Jyn Erso, Cassian Andor and 2 Shoretroopers. 

It does look like it’s going to be one of the most interesting battle terrains in any Star Wars set, so I’m glad that this will release, but at the same time I feel like they could’ve swapped this idea with the Battle on Naboo idea to make that set a bit bigger and better and this set smaller and probably more affordable for the great public.

75172 Y-wing Starfighter

Yes you may think it’s one of the many filler Y-wings, but it actually isn’t. This set not only looks like the best Y-wing Lego has offered us yet, but it also comes with quite an interesting arsenal of figures. The set includes Rebel Pilot, Admiral Raddus, Rebel Astromech Droid, Moroff and a Stormtrooper. All really unique characters and it really cool to have them bundled with a cool vehicle (except the Stormtrooper, but as I said before, you can never go wrong with a Stormtrooper).


Buildable Figures

75523 Scarif Shoretrooper

My favorite buildable figure in this wave. Not only because it is an armored character vs one without a helmet, but also because I really like the Scarif Trooper design. Just as the Death Trooper from the current wave, I’ll probably get this guy as soon as I can.

75524 Chirrut Îmwe

I usually don’t really like the characters with a human face for these kind of sets, but I think that Chirrut may be one of the more interesting faced characters in this style. I like how Lego designed his weapon and the soft goods appear to be cool as well.

75525 Baze Malbus

Probably the most fitting faced character in this building style. Unfortunately I don’t think his face looks as good as Chirrut’s face does compared to their respective actor. Yet I still think that this could be a fun and interesting build. It may not really be for me but I’m sure there are a lot of collectors and kids that do know how to appreciate this character.


So that’s all for now, I hope you’re as excited for this wave as I am. I really would like to get a few of these sets, but unfortunately my main focus is collecting the 6″ Star Wars figures and since there are quite a few interesting figures coming in this line (from many different brands) I will probably have to cut a bit in my Lego budget. Nonetheless I’m really excited for the sets in this wave and if I don’t get them now, I may get them later.


Is there anything I missed or something you want to know/see more about?
Let me know in the comment section and help improve this blog.
Check out my Facebook Page and/or Twitter Page as well.

Leave a Reply

