Tahu – Bionicle 2001

Tahu, the Toa of Fire was my very first Bionicle ever. He and his future iterations hooked me on the Bionicle franchise even till this day. It was also technically my very first action figure and the first Lego set I got (that wasn’t from my parents).

The build of Tahu was pretty simple yet complex enough for 6 year old kids to be sort of a challenge. It doesn’t take that long but was definitely great for kids that were old enough.

Because this was also my first Lego set and first Bionicle, I got really attached to this figure and it also made me fall in love with the franchise.

Back in the day, this was my favorite toy. I remember playing with it a lot and even making up stories. Sometimes even involving the other Lego sets I got (yes, even the regular Lego sets like Lego City).


 Content

He comes with 33 pieces. Most of these pieces were used for the first time in the first Toa sets, for example the Hau (mask), sword, torso, arm and leg pieces.

All the Toa had a gear box system to move their arm(s) or leg(s) by turning a gear on the back of the figure. It was one of the main features that made Bionicle stand out back in the day but was only used for 3 series in the first generation. It has now made a return with the 2015 reboot.

IMG_1939

Looks

Tahu is my all time favorite Toa and that is mostly because I liked this look. I always pretended that his hand was a gun similar to that of Star Wars Destroyer Droids/Droidekas.


Poseability

Tahu was definitely not super poseable. But the limited poseability didn’t really take away of the fun factor. Since that is actually the most important factor for these figures, because they are toys, that is a good thing.

The ball joint system however was able to get some decent poses for your Bionicles and will be improved over time.

IMG_1952


 Verdict

Tahu will always have a special spot in my heart and is also the reason why I will keep collecting Bionicles till the end.

If you’re still not convinced this was an amazing toy back in the day, then watch this video and you will fall in love with the character (and maybe the series) as well.


 I give Tahu a 9/10

PRO’S

  • Set high standards for the Bionicle line and story
  • high fun factor
  • looks really cool

CON’S

  • not very poseable
  • if it releases now, the score wouldn’t be as high

Is there anything I missed or something you want to know/see more about?
Let me know in the comment section and help improve this blog.

Leave a Reply

